Writing Intensive Director Afaa Micheal Weaver

Afaa Michael Weaver

Return to Writing Intensive

Afaa M. Weaver (formerly Michael S. Weaver) is the author of fourteen collections of poetry, He received the 2014 Kingsley Tufts Award for The Government of Nature (U Pitt 2013), the second book in his Plum Flower Trilogy, which began with The Plum Flower Dance (U Pitt 2007) and concludes with City of Eternal Spring (U Pitt 2014), which received the 2015 Phyllis Wheatley Award. His other poetry awards include four Pushcart prizes, inclusion in Best American Poetry (2014, 2015), The May Sarton Award (2008), the Gold Friendship Medal (2005) from the Beijing Writers’ Association, an appointment as a Fulbright scholar (2002) to teach at National Taiwan University, and a Pew (1998) fellowship. As a playwright, he won the PDI award in playwriting from the ETA Creative Arts Foundation in Chicago for his play Elvira and the Lost Prince. Afaa did his graduate work in the writing program at Brown. He teaches at Simmons College and in Drew University’s MFA program in poetry and translation. Afaa has also taught at Bread Loaf. His works have been translated into Arabic in Like the Wind (2010) by Wissal Al-Allaq and into Chinese in periodicals in China and Taiwan. Afaa is a certified teacher of Tai Chi Chuan.

Read poems by Afaa M. Weaver

Date: November 19, 2015