A permanent home and museum for poets and poetry

2022 Chapbook Competition Sponsored by Bull City Press

A Veil You'll Cast Aside cover
Na Mash Me Bone cover
Rajiv Mohabir headshot
Thunder In the Courtyard cover
Acoustic Trauma cover

Update on the 2022 Frost Place Chapbook Competition

The Frost Place, which administers the annual Frost Place Chapbook Competition, has hit unavoidable delays in the administration of this year’s competition. They have assured Bull City Press that all manuscripts will be read in accordance with competition guidelines, but the timeline has been pushed back. Attendance at the Frost Place Poetry Seminar and the option to live and write in The Frost Place House-Museum will be awarded in 2023. Bull City Press remains committed to publishing the winning collection in a timely fashion once the final selections are made. Thank you for your patience.

Because the Frost Place is still working on the 2022 competition, The Frost Place and Bull City Press will not be opening the 2023 competition. 

Submission Period: October 1, 2021 – January 5, 2022.
Submissions Fee: $28.00.

The Frost Place in partnership with Bull City Press, invites submissions to The Tenth Annual Frost Place Chapbook Competition Sponsored by Bull City Press. The 10th Annual Frost Place Chapbook Competition’s Final Judge is Rajiv Mohabir.

The winner’s chapbook will be published by Bull City Press in Summer 2022.  The winner will receive 10 complimentary copies (from a print run of 300), and a $250 prize.  The winner will also receive a full scholarship to attend the Poetry Seminar at The Frost Place, August 2022, including room and board (valued at approximately $1,550, Pending COVID-19), and will give a featured reading from the chapbook at the Seminar.

Additionally, the chapbook fellow will have the option to spend one week living and writing in The Frost Place House-Museum in September 2022 (peak fall foliage season in the White Mountains) at a time agreed upon by the fellow and the Frost Place.

Submissions are only accepted online through the online submission manager.

For more information on our summer programs at The Frost Place visit our programs page.


The Frost Place Chapbook Competition Sponsored by Bull City Press is open to any poet writing in English. Simultaneous submissions are permissible, but entrants are asked to notify the competition administrators through the competition website immediately if a manuscript becomes committed elsewhere.

Please do not submit to this competition if you are close enough to the final judge, Rajiv Mohabir, that his integrity, or the integrity of Bull City Press and The Frost Place, would be called into question should you be selected as the winner. You may query us if you have questions regarding this matter. Please query by email to frost@frostplace.org.


Entries must be submitted between October 1, 2021 and January 5, 2022.  All entries must be submitted to our online submissions manager.  Entries submitted by e-mail, fax, or US mail are not permitted and will be disqualified. Entries must be accompanied by a $28.00 entry fee.  Entrants may submit multiple manuscripts, but must pay a $28.00 entry fee for each manuscript submitted.

  • The author’s name should not appear anywhere in the manuscript – this includes the title page. Submission with identification on the manuscript will be disqualified.

  • Manuscripts should have a page count (poems only, not including title page, table of contents, acknowledgements, or other items) of 20 to 25 pages.

  • Manuscripts should be submitted in PDF or Microsoft Word (.doc & .docx) format only.  Manuscripts submitted in another file format are not permitted and will be disqualified. Manuscript revisions are not permitted during the competition.


Each manuscript is delivered to two preliminary readers as a blind submission. That is, it is stripped of identifying material. Only the manuscript, inclusive of any text notes, is sent to the readers and, if chosen as a finalist, then sent on to the final judge. Preliminary readers are asked to notify the press if the work in a submitted manuscript is familiar to them, in which case it will be reassigned as a blind submission to another reader.

Our preliminary readers for the competition are selected by Bull City Press and The Frost Place, and are poets who have received a graduate degree in creative writing or literature. Our readers look for beautifully-crafted work, manuscripts that have a cohesive shape and feel like complete chapbooks.  They look to present a wide range of excellent work to the final judge.

In the event that the final judge chooses no manuscript for publication, all competition fees will be returned.
Final notification of the competition winner and competition finalists will be provided by e-mail to all competition entrants in spring 2022.


2021 Winner Ae Hee Lee

2020 Winner Armen Davoudian

2019 Winner Cassandra J. Bruner

2018 Winner Yuki Tanaka

2017 Winner Conor Bracken

2016 Winner Tiana Clark

2015 Winner Anders Carlson Wee

2014 Winner Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet

2013 Winner Jill Osier