2016 Poetry Seminar Faculty: Cleopatra Mathis

Cleopatra Mathis Frost Place Poetry Seminar Faculty

Return to all Poetry Seminar faculty and fellows

Cleopatra Mathis has published seven collections of poetry. The most recent, from Sarabande Books, are White Sea, 2005, awarded the May Sarton Book Prize, and Book of Dog, 2013, which won the Sheila Motten Book Prize. Her book What to Tip the Boatman?, 2001, won the 2001 Jane Kenyon Award. Her poems have appeared widely in magazines, and journals, including The New Yorker, The Georgia Review, The Southern Review, The Nation, TriQuarterly, The Michigan Quarterly Review, Ploughshares, and Three Penny Review, as well as numerous anthologies and textbooks. Awards for her work include two National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, three Pushcart Prizes, a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, a Dora Maar Fellowship from the Houston Museum of Fine Arts, and the Peter Lavin Award from the Academy of American Poets. Born and raised in Louisiana of Greek and Choctaw decent, she has taught creative writing and English at Dartmouth College since 1982, where she is the Frederick Sessions Beebe ’35 Professor in the Art of Writing.

Read poems by Cleopatra Mathis

Date: January 20, 2016