A permanent home and museum for poets and poetry

Chapbook Competition

Submissions are closed for the 2021 season. Submissions for the 2022 season open on October 1, 2021. We are very pleased to announce our 2021 winner Ae Hee Lee.

Since 2013, The Frost Place and Bull City Press have teamed up to facilitate an annual chapbook competition. The selected winner’s chapbook is published by Bull City Press in the summer following the competition. The winner receives 10 complimentary copies (from a print run of 300), and a $250 prize. The winner also receives a full scholarship to attend the Poetry Seminar at The Frost Place, including room and board (valued at approximately $1,550), and gives a featured reading from the chapbook at the Seminar. Additionally, the chapbook fellow has the option to spend one week living and writing in The Frost Place House-Museum in September (during peak fall foliage season in the White Mountains) at a time agreed upon by the fellow and The Frost Place.

Due to Covid-19 precautions, the Poetry Seminar will be held virtually again this year, but the chapbook fellow will still be able to choose a week to live and write in The Frost Place House-Museum at a mutually agreed-upon time.

2021 Winner Ae Hee Lee
2020 Winner Armen Davoudian
2019 Winner Cassandra J. Bruner
2018 Winner Yuki Tanaka
2017 Winner Conor Bracken
2016 Winner Tiana Clark
2015 Winner Anders Carlson Wee
2014 Winner Lisa Gluskin Stonestreet
2013 Winner Jill Osier